Chess Problems Forum Index Chess Problems
Chess Problems
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Java does not load

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Chess Problems Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jpnpthjan
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Java does not load Reply with quote

The java for the problems has not been loading since this site launched.

I get the following message when I roll over the unloaded java:

load: class com.adum.chess.ChessApplet not found

Has anyone else had this problem? Does anyone know what's causing it, considering the site seems to be working for others?

Thanks.
Back to top
adum
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Jun 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what browser and Java version are you using?

adum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jpnpthjan
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The browser is IE. I'm not sure about the java platform but I think it's Java 2.

Also, I tried the site with firefox, and it works.
Back to top
adum
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Jun 2005
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pogo.com designs their applets for Java 1.1, whereas this site requires 1.4, so that might be a problem.
i know that not everybody has 1.4, but there were a lot of cool features i couldn't do with 1.1.

if you go to Tools -> Sun Java Console in IE you can see what Java version you have installed. i'm not exactly sure how to do it in firefox -- i personally had to install an extension to get the java console to come up.

adum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmip
Administrator


Joined: 05 Nov 2005
Posts: 230
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, Jeff, do you by any chance use IE7 ?
Does the same happen with IE6, Firefox or Netscape browsers?

If you use IE7 , you might need to enable java- applets separately.
See my experiences from another tread.
Still cannot edit or add problems with IE7.
_________________
There are only three kinds of chessplayers - those who can count and those who cannot....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mrmip
Administrator


Joined: 05 Nov 2005
Posts: 230
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Jeff.
My earlier thread is "Setting a new problem' under Forum Index->Bugs.
(ie. close neighbour to this thread.)
However I think your concern is different, because for me everything works fine with IE6.

Sometimes there is a problem with security settings (for example loading applets across domains.)
_________________
There are only three kinds of chessplayers - those who can count and those who cannot....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Chess Problems Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT - 9 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group